Happy Friday!

It’s been a very long week, and I’m smack in the middle of two books at the moment – The Splendour Falls by Susanna Kearsley and The Collector of Dying Breaths by MJ Rose.  So I don’t have a new review to post, and instead, I thought I would share some great book things happening around the web!

  1. Deanna Raybourn is offering up a signed ARC of her new book, City of Jasmine, and a sweet initial necklace from Altruette.  You can sign up to win this giveaway over on Deanna’s blog.
  2. Miss Eliza of Strange and Random Happenstance is devoting the entire month of February to reviewing Downton Abbey readalikes.  She’s already posted her first few books, and today’s review is about The American Heiress.  I keep seeing this book everywhere, and after reading her review, I’m convinced to give it a try.  Also, she is giving away a very cute Downton Abbey bell that looks like a decorative version of the ones that hang in the servants’ hall.  No charge to enter, just comment on her blog post!
  3. The New York Times has asked author Sarah Maclean to review four romance novels for this week’s Sunday Book Review.  Possibly this doesn’t sound exciting, but it’s actually a pretty big deal.  The NYT has a history of taking a “wall of silence” attitude about romance novels – they just keep ignoring the fact that romance is one of the most widely-sold fiction genres today in favor of reviewing “literary fiction.”  I think it will be interesting to see the reaction to Sarah’s reviews.
  4. There is an excellent list on Buzzfeed of 16 books to read before they hit theaters in 2014.  Since Winter’s Tale comes out next weekend, I’d better get cracking on it!  Not sure what’s up with Colin Farrell’s hair in some of the pictures I’ve seen, but Jessica Brown Findlay (Sybil!) and Alan Doyle (from Great Big Sea) are going to be in this, so I’m excited.
  5. Lauren Willig posted on Facebook that she’s working on a new novel set in the 1920s, and her hero reminds her of Benedict Cumberbatch.  I knew I liked Lauren for a reason.  And as an additional treat, check out this video of the man himself discussing the importance of reading and then proceeding to do just that.  Because it’s Friday, and I love him.

Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday!

  1. You know all the things! I thought Colin’s hair looked better shorter. I guess he loses his memory as well as his understanding of the importance of proper grooming.

Leave a Reply

