The Lost Sisterhood

sisterhood2

I was excited to get an advance copy of Anne Fortier’s new novel The Lost Sisterhood from NetGalley.  Several people have recommended Anne’s first novel (Juliet) to me.  I even own a copy – but I’ve never gotten around to reading it.  This book called to me because I love Greek and Roman mythology, and I am a sucker for these dual-time mysteries.

This story shifts between the present day and the ancient world, telling the stories of two women who embark on dangerous journeys, thousands of years apart, that both lead to the same end: the truth behind the legend of the Amazon sisterhood.

For Myrina and her sister Lilli, the story begins in North Africa late in the Bronze Age. Myrina and Lilli are searching for the temple of the Moon Goddess their mother used to describe for them, hoping to find a cure for the mysterious sickness that left Lilli blind. What begins as a simple quest to save her sister becomes a mission to rescue 3 priestesses kidnapped by Greek pirates, and ultimately lands Myrina right in the thick of the Trojan War.

In modern-day England, Diana Morgan is having a career crisis. Several influential people at Diana’s college, and in her personal life, have been urging her to quit chasing the myth of the Amazons and focus on more scholarly subjects. Diana is beginning to question her path and her motivation when an enigmatic benefactor offers her the opportunity of a lifetime – the chance to decipher the text on the walls of an excavated temple which may confirm the existence of an ancient Amazon society. Diana can’t resist the opportunity, and she hops on a plane without asking too many questions. But things around Diana start to go wrong, a number of increasingly severe “accidents” occur, and Diana realizes that she has no idea what she’s gotten herself into or what sort of people she may be dealing with.

This is exactly the kind of time-slip novel that I love, with the story weaving back and forth between time periods and the details of a mystery coming gradually into focus. As is typical for me, I preferred the historical heroine to the modern one, but their stories were both interesting to me. The Trojan War is one of my favorite subjects in Greek mythology, and I thought Fortier’s take on it was very different than anything that I’ve read before. There were some places in the modern storyline that felt a bit rushed or forced, but I was so interested in getting to the conclusion that I didn’t let it bother me much. Fortier does a great job of making you believe that something as seemingly obscure as the history of the Amazons is a secret that someone in 2013 would kill for.

If this sounds interesting, you should head over to Anne’s website and check it out.  You can listen to a part of the audiobook, see a book trailer, and check out some excellent pictures from the research trips she made while working on the book.

Leave a Reply

