Pink Comics Giveaway and Other Pink Trivia

Good morning, and happy Monday! I hope you had a wonderful weekend.

Back in 2010, Lauren commissioned the artist Joanne Renaud to create a set of comics depicting 8 scenes from The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. Have you seen them? They are posted here on Lauren’s website. A panel of one of these comics was actually used as the cover for the “Ivy and Intrigue: A Very Selwick Christmas” novella. If you go to Joanne’s site, you can take a look at her work. She’s done some illustrations for Sarah MacLean as well, for her novel Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, and I had a great time looking through her portfolio.

Getting back to the Pink comics, would you like to win a set of your own? Lauren has offered to give one away to a Pink for All Seasons participant! To enter, comment below and share your favorite moment so far from Pink I. You can enter until Thursday at midnight EST. I’ll announce the winner on Friday.

Also, on the topic of all things Pink related, did you know that Lord Richard Selwick is mentioned in Mary Blayney’s novel Traitor’s Kiss? This book is the first in Mary’s “Pennistan” series, and her hero is rescued from a French prison by an English noblewoman in 1813. Evidently, Lauren and Mary had a chat about writing post-revolution France and decided it would be fun if their worlds overlapped a bit. As soon as I found out about this, I rushed off to grab a copy of Traitor’s Kiss, anxious to see what kind of cameo appearance Richard would have. I wound up being slightly disappointed, because I thought I’d get to see Richard in action. Instead, his name is mentioned in a conversation where Mary’s hero is defending the scholarly interest that took him to France. But even though we don’t get to see Richard effecting any daring rescue attempts, it’s still a fun reference and makes you feel a little smug about knowing exactly who Mary is talking about. If you like books about this time period, and you appreciate books that fall more rigidly into the romance category than Lauren’s, Traitor’s Kiss could be a good read for you.

32 thoughts on “Pink Comics Giveaway and Other Pink Trivia

  1. I love crossovers, even if they’re small — I’ll have to check out that book!
    Oooh, illustrated panels, very cool 🙂
    My favorite scene so far… well I just spent a good while chuckling over poor Richards first encounter with Gwen. I think she may, actually, be one of my favorite characters 🙂

  2. Would love to win these. My favorite moment so far is the scene in Edouard’s study when Amy meets the Purple Gentian for the first time and both of them are trying to be stealthy – so funny!

  3. There are so many favorites, but I dearly love when Amy finally realizes who the Purple Gentian is and Miss Gwen wonders what took her so long and wants a description of the kissing for her novel.

    • Miss Gwen wonders what took her so long and wants a description of the kissing for her novel.

      Will second this! Miss Gwen is just too funny.

  4. One of my favorite scenes is when Richard and Amy both end up in the darkened room looking for information. There’s a lot of humor and attraction there!

  5. Rather than pick a specific moment I have to mention the tone. Lauren’s style and light hearted paying is infectious. Also I love the definition of a LIPID.

  6. My favorite moment so far is convincing my mom to read the Pink Carnation Series…and when Amy meets the Purple Gentian in the darkroom is really entertaining as well 🙂

  7. There are a LOT of moments I love…the first that comes to mind is when Amy, Jane, and Henrietta are all discussing how appallingly Richard behaved and share their plan. Plus Richard’s horror at this is wonderful.

  8. My favorite part(s) are reading about Eloise doing her research. As a Ph.D. candidate I commiserate with her! Sadly, I don’t have a Colin to help me through it all! Oh, and at RT NOLA, we learned what a “Smothered Parrot” via Deanna Raybourn, Lauren, Beatrice and a few others.

    • So jealous that you got to go to RT NOLA! I see that registration isn’t open for 2015 yet. Do you know if there is information available about who is going to be there?

  9. There are a lot of memorable scenes. The one that comes to mind is when Richard and Amy are being rowed across the river. Richard’s amorousness is thwarted as the oarsman keeps hitting him with the oars.

  10. My favorite Pink moment so far is Amy and Richard’s first meeting, crossing the Channel. They hated each other so much, it had to be love!

  11. I would love to have a set! My favorite scene is also when Richard and Amy are going down the river. Just the right amount of passion and romance. And I also love when Amy figures out he is the Purple Gentian. I just read that before my ipad died on me last night. That is the downside to eBooks when the plug isn’t close to a reading spot!

  12. I have so many favorite scenes for each of the Pink books! I love when Colin gets shut down by his aunt- that always makes me smug especially when he comes off as a huge jerk in the beginning. Another favorite scene in Pink I is when Richard is watching Amys dangling feet and bottom as she’s climbing out the window. It takes him a moment or two to…ah…recover.

  13. Pink I is filled with excellent moments, but if I had to pick my very favorite I would pick this: “Drop those thumb screws and step away from my son.” I wanted to cheer out loud. It was perfection, and it solidified Lady Uppington’s spot as one of my most beloved characters in the series. I can never seem to get enough of her.

  14. (WordPress, you are warned, I want this comic book so pleaaaaase, don’t shut me off this time! :D)

    I think my favourite scene from Pink 1 is a bit further into the book, so if I had to pick one, it would be the smooching on the river (made my heart beat faster! :D). And the crossing of the channel on the same boat… 😀 And Miss Gwen “interacting” with Napoleon. And any scene with Eloise and Colin.
    Well. The whole book is my favorite scene! 😀

  15. Pingback: Genre Continued | The Bubblebath Reader

  16. My favorite is the scene where Richard and Amy first meet! It’s all set up so wonderfully where the reader knows both of their intentions, but they don’t know each other’s, and you just know it’s going to be delicious. 😀

Leave a Reply

