Ginger Biscuits

Today’s post is written by Erin and pays tribute to Miles Dorrington’s legendary affection for Cook’s ginger biscuits!

So I am not a huge baking person, and when I make cookies they are usually out of a pre-made mix, but I thought I would take a crack at the recipe on Lauren’s site for the ginger biscuits.

Ingredients:
1. 4 tablespoons of butter
2. 1 egg
3. 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
4. 1 cup sugar
5. 1 teaspoon baking powder
6. 1 teaspoon ground ginger
7. Optional for topping: 3/4 teaspoon sugar and 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

 Steps:
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Melt the butter.
3. Add in the 1 cup of sugar then allow the mixture to cool.
4. Mix together the flour, baking powder and ground ginger.
5. Add in the butter/sugar mixture.
6. Add the egg.
7. Form into balls and line on baking tray.
8. Optional topping: mix 3/4 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp ground ginger and sprinkle on top.
9. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

I couldn’t find the golden syrup, but I googled substitutes and used 2 parts corn syrup and 1 part molasses.

ginger 1

I followed the instructions and added the golden syrup substitute when I added the egg and then beat it all together. It looked really crumbly, like it wouldn’t hold together, but the dough is pretty sticky and was easily rolled into balls.

ginger 2

I sprinkled the tops with the ginger/sugar mixture and then popped them into the oven. It took a little bit longer in my oven, more like 20 minutes, but I think I made the balls too big (ha, ha). Once they came out they were really, really good. Even my husband liked them and he is not a cookie or anything sweet fan. I can see why Miles loves them so much. I have already had 3 of them and had to put them away before I continued eating them. Here is the link to the rest of the recipe on Lauren’s site. I hope you all will try the recipe as well so you too can enjoy the ginger biscuits!

ginger 3

 

8 thoughts on “Ginger Biscuits

  1. Is it just me or is it missing from the recipe? For the life of me, in neither this recipe, nor the one on Lauren’s site in the recipe itself, I do not see where the golden syrup comes in, I only see it in the comments that it couldn’t be found and here is what was substituted. It might have been useful to have put the golden syrup with amount in the recipe and then in parentheses that they substituted X amount of this and Y amount of this. If you are in a place that you can find the golden syrup, you’d want to know how much and where in the recipe it goes. just a thought.

    • Hi Debra! The recipe that Erin used (and the one on Lauren’s website) is a combination effort that Lauren came up with after comparing recipes from a few different British cooking websites. Lauren converted the measurements and eliminated the ingredients that are hard to find in the US (hence the disappearance of golden syrup). I think this is one of the recipes Lauren was looking at originally: http://larderlove.com/gingernut-biscuits/ That one tells you to add the golden syrup (5 tablespoons) to the butter and melt them together before you add the sugar. Hope this helps!

  2. They look fabulous! I really enjoyed the pictures of the process. There is no way I could put them away after eating just 3. I think I must be part Dorrington because I love ginger cookies. Thanks for paying tribute to the biscuits!

Leave a Reply

