The Deception of the Emerald Ring

emerald ring

Happy November to one and all! Today, we’re kicking off our month of reading The Deception of the Emerald Ring. Our guest blogger and moderator for this month is my sweet friend Beth. Beth and I were luck-of-the-draw college suitemates, and we quickly discovered a mutual fondness for Broadway musicals, Disney movies, and gingham dresses. Beth is actually the person responsible for putting a copy of Pink I in my hands seven years ago. I’m thrilled that she is going to be leading us through this month of discussion.

Before I had this post over to her, two quick announcements. First, I’ll be giving away a signed copy of Pink III next week, so be on the lookout for that. Second, thanks to everyone who participated in Ask the Author II on Friday! I promised that two commenters would be the recipients of some Pink swag, so congratulations to Holly@GunInActOne and Rebecca E. You will both be receive a Pink for All Seasons mug designed for either Pink I or Pink II. Email me at ashley.pinkforallseasons@gmail.com with your address so I can send you your prize! I will post pictures of these mugs soon. The plan is to create one for every book in the Pink series! More on this later – for now, I will let Beth introduce herself.

Hi All!  I am so excited (as in, on a scale from one to excited, off the charts excited!) to be guest posting as a part of Pink for All Seasons.  Ask Ashley and she’ll tell you – I’m the reason she got into The Pink Carnation series in the first place – and I am delighted to be a part of the Pink party years later.  In all honesty, I’m a little nervous about this.  I’ve never really blogged before, and have no idea if I can do as good as a job as Erin and fabulous Ashley herself.   Regardless… here we go!

The Deception of the Emerald Ring is my favorite book.  Hands down.   For a refresher, check out Lauren’s recap of the book on her webpage. I love this book – and as I was reading the prologue to get ready for this adventure, I got to thinking about why I love this one.  It’s not that I love any of the others any less, but for some reason this one is my favoritest of the favorites.  What is it about this book that just hits that perfect spot on a rainy afternoon with a fuzzy blanket and a warm, snuggly pup?  I think I’ve got 3 reasons why the Emerald Ring and I are such good friends:

  1. Eloise and I were doing research together.  Granted, I was in graduate school studying gastrointestinal physiology and she was studying French spies, but still – I totally sympathized with Eloise’s jaunts in the bowels of the library.  I was happy to have some company along the research way….even if Eloise was in London and I was in North Carolina.
  2. By Emerald Ring, I trusted Lauren.  I’m the kind of reader that takes a little while to trust an author, and two books into this series not only was I hooked, but I trusted Lauren to take me on a swashbuckling adventure.  It’s such a comforting feeling to sit back and let yourself get swept away in a story!
  3. Letty.  I just love this character.  She’s got spunk, spirit, and strength – that is a triple threat in my book.  She’s the kind of girl you can root for, from the very first page, and I couldn’t wait to see what adventure Lauren had up her sleeve for this heroine.

So, I’m thrilled to get started with my favoritest of the favorites.  As Geoff writes to Mary Alsworthy, “All is in readiness…”  Bring on the adventure!  As we start though, I’m curious.  What are you looking forward to about reading The Deception of the Emerald Ring?

 

15 thoughts on “The Deception of the Emerald Ring

  1. I started back into this one last night (when I realized it was another month, which meant a new book!) And found myself loving the research bit… So can relate… I think this is one of the stories I raced through the first time, so know I enjoyed it, but can’t remember it terribly well, so am looking forward to the reread.

  2. This was definitely not my favorite book the first time I read it, but on subsequent reads I have decided I like it much better than original. It has a more subtle appeal than the others, and there are some really hilarious hidden bits that I didn’t notice the first time around.

    • As we read through this time, be sure to share the parts that won you over in your subsequent reads! Lauren mentions in the forward that she also struggled with this book… I wonder if your reasons are similar?

  3. I did enjoy this book, but I wouldn’t peg it as a favorite. My top three are Black Tulip, Crimson Rose, and Orchid Affair. But this one was the book that did hook me on to the series. I think Letty is different than Amy and Hen. Like you said, she’s definitely got spunk. Tulip had lots of humor mixed in but this one was a bit more serious. The situation was vastly different and that’s what I enjoy best. They marry early on due to the circumstance but have to still get to know each other. It was refreshing.

  4. This one definitely has hidden gems for a second or third read…particularly the insight into Jane’s strength and Miss Gwen’s over the top humorous bits!

    • I think, of all of the folks in this series – Miss Gwen is the one I would want to meet! She has me in absolute stitches. Let’s meet her for tea, shall we? Parasols are required.

  5. Hi Beth! I was listening to the Prologue on audiobook today. I have read the book before, so I know it is good, but for some reason today it really wrapped around me and felt so good. It was a bit like coming home, if that makes any kind of sense at all. There is something about Lauren’s writing style that is beyond my ability to describe, but it is on a different level than anything else I read. It seems effortless and smart without being pretentious.

    I am looking forward to reading again about Eloise and Colin. I really like Colin, and with time what happens in each book has blurred together in my mind. I am really looking forward to seeing all the players again. Miles was mentioned in reference in one of the first chapters and it was great. I am looking forward to seeing if there is anyone that I notice more this time around. Mostly, what I am looking forward to is Geoffrey and Lefty and their story again.

    I think this was the book that really gave me some background history information, too. The Ireland connection is a bonus for me.

    I am excited to have you moderating this month! This is going to be wonderful since you are so fond of this book. And, yes, Miss Gwen is the swaggiest of all, no doubt.

    • You’ll have to tell us what you think of the audiobooks – I love listening to them, but sometimes the reader or their voice just shakes me out of the story. What do you think of the reader of this book?

      I completely agree that the Colin/Eloise happenings blend together – I can’t at all remember what exactly happens between them in this book! It will be a fun surprise for both of us!

      • I think that this reader, Kate Reading (how great is that?), is absolutely phenomenal. I know what you mean about some audiobooks being jarring or irritating. I never thought I would like them at all. I do dislike some. I think this reader is my favorite I have heard.

        Recently, I was so impressed with how she handled the Grandma voice. She gives everything just the right emphasis without being overly dramatic or tiring. She also doesn’t have that drone tone that some narrators have. I have been making use of the Whispersync feature on my Kindle which lets me switch back and forth from reading and listening. I spend a lot of time commuting in my car.

        I don’t believe that listening is quite the same experience as sitting and reading a book for oneself. Given a choice, and all things being equal, I would always choose to read. But, I had a period of time when I could not see to read and it made me more receptive to options. Sometimes, it is still a better option for me to listen. This particular audiobook is a true treat. I recommend it!

  6. This book is the one I haven’t come back to in the longest and other than knowing it’s Geoff and Letty’s story and it’s in Ireland, I really don’t remember much about it so I’m so excited for this month. And I feel the same as Paige about Colin and Eloise. So much of their story has blurred together that it’ll be fun to go back and read it all over again!!

    • It sounds like you have book amnesia – I have it all the time, but I kind of love it – each time I re-read a book, it feels new and exciting! I use ‘book amnesia’ as an excuse to buy books all the time. It’s a good investment, since I’m sure to forget and read it again at some point! (oh, book shopping justification….)

  7. I agree with many of Paige’s comments. When I began reading the series, fortunately there were three books already in print, with a fourth that soon followed. Although it is so hard to pick a favorite since they are all so good, I found that when I got to Deception of the Emerald Ring, it became my favorite at the time. Part of the reason is that it was Geoff’s story, and after having him hover in the background, I was ready to learn more about him. I really liked his character and could picture him being in the spy business.

    As others have mentioned, the Irish connection was a real draw for me, as my heritage is English, Irish, and Scottish. I am always looking to learn more about the struggles in other nations for freedom. I have read several more books about Ireland since my first reading of Emerald Ring, so am looking forward to discovering new insights with this reread. Thanks, for being the moderator, Beth.

    • It’s great to see that so many folks have an Ireland connection – I got to visit Ireland years ago while studying abroad, and it is a magical place (I’m sure Letty would agree, but Geoff would conceed that it was something much more sensible than ‘magical). You are blessed with a rich heritage!

Leave a Reply

