Jewelry in Pink III and Beyond

ring

Today’s post was written by Beth.

I hope everyone is having a great week!

You know, even though The Deception of the Emerald Ring is the only Pink book without a flower in the front, several of the characters have special jewelry.  Letty has her “greasy” emerald ring, Jane has her pink carnation locket, and the Black Tulip has her silver chess piece.

There are other examples of jewelry that take center stage in a story.  For example, the pearl earring in The Girl with the Pearl Earring.  Or, in the category of “jewelry with superpowers,” Slytherin’s locket and Ravenclaw’s diadem in Harry Potter, or the One Ring in the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Regardless, I really enjoy how each of these characters has a talisman that becomes a part of who they are.  So, a question to ponder as you explore The Deception of the Emerald Ring – if you had a talisman that represented you, what would it be and why?  Do you know of other examples of jewelry in literature?

Thanks for the post today, Beth.  I do feel sorry for Letty for having a ring that is so consistently described as “greasy.”  Yuck.  The only other example I came up with off the top of my head about characters who have a piece of jewelry that defines them was Katniss’ mockingjay pin from The Hunger Games.  I’ll be interested to hear what others have to say!

5 thoughts on “Jewelry in Pink III and Beyond

  1. Number the Stars by Lois Lowery has the Star of David necklace as a symbol. It’s not a book, but we have Orphan Annie’s locket too.

  2. Both good examples! I think if I had jewelry with special powers….I’d want it to be a charm bracelet, and every charm would have a different power. You know, like the charm bracelets that used to be popular before Pandora came along?

  3. I know this post came out weeks ago, and I’m just reading it now, but the first thing that came to mind is the hair ornaments that Cadsuane wears in The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Each was a different shape and were ter’angreal. Kinda like Beth’s idea of a charm bracelet, but I love the idea of it being worn in the hair. I also have always loved the whole stilettos-disguised-as-hair-pins thing . . . maybe it’s because my hair is too fine to really work with hair stuff so I dream of that which I cannot have 🙂

Leave a Reply

