Introducing Sarah, a Pink IV Moderator

rose

This post was written by Sarah.

Greetings, fellow Pink fans! My name is Sarah, and I’m one of the ladies who will be contributing to Pink IV: The Seduction of the Crimson Rose. I thought I would start with a little of my Pink background. My introduction to the series was with The Deception of the Emerald Ring. I found the audio version quite by accident at my local library and the cover art and synopsis caught my attention completely. Now, normally, I would NEVER begin a series with book three (it’s a personal OCD thing); but nothing on the packaging indicated that it was part of a series, so I merrily went on my way and listened . . . and I was totally hooked. Afterwards, I began researching Lauren and Pink and discovered the other novels. In hindsight I’m glad I started with Emerald Ring. I adore Geoff and Letty, and I think Miles and Henrietta are absolutely hilarious; I’m terrified that if I’d started at the beginning I may not have been so keen to continue. Forgive me, but I find Amy kind of annoying, sorry, sorry, sorry…

Anywho, Crimson Rose, my favourite (I’m Canadian, deal with the u’s) of the published Pink novels. I’m not entirely sure why, but there is something about Mary and Vaughn that fully capture my attention and imagination. Maybe it’s because I’ve always found a mysterious depth in the characters, the more times I read Crimson Rose the more of Vaughn and Mary I discover.  Not to mention their interplay with the established, and already loved, characters of the first three novels.

Sebastian, Lord Vaughn immediately caught my attention when we first met him in Black Tulip, how can we forget Lady Uppington’s advice to Henrietta?  “Miles is a dear make-believe rake. Lord Vaughn is the real thing.” Not to mention his Chinese dragons, serpent cane, and ever-present quizzing glass, utterly fascinating! Honestly, maybe it’s because he reminds me ever-so-slightly of my husband (who wasn’t a rake as far as I’m aware): dark with streaks of silver, intelligent, and eloquent, if oblique, turns-of-phrase; there’s not nearly as much cynicism in my husband, fortunately.

I also find Mary quite the character study. She comes across as very selfish and vain; however, when put in the context of the society she lives on the fringes of, and wants very much to be a full member of, she comes into a more sympathetic light. No self-respecting person wants to be dependent on their relations, especially if that relation is your younger sister.  As an oldest sister of multiple siblings myself, I totally get that. The elder are supposed to look after the younger, not the other way around.

This story is full of complicated characters, as well as well-beloved ones that we get better acquainted with, and therefore they become more complicated. The Seduction of the Crimson Rose is where I really feel that the Pink series gains major traction, both with characters and how all those characters interact in later novels. I look forward to reading this novel along with all of you and seeing, once again and with different eyes every time, how everything comes out for Vaughn and Mary. Enjoy the journey!

13 thoughts on “Introducing Sarah, a Pink IV Moderator

  1. I found this one interesting because its the first time that you have 2 characters that aren’t particularly well loved conventionally, they are more like villains, as the premise of the book.

    • Rebecca, you are right! Lauren has compared Mary to Scarlet O’Hara in posts on her website and called her “The Difficult Heroine.” I certainly wasn’t expecting Mary to be a heroine after reading Pink III!

    • I agree that Lauren is amazing! I kind of remember being a bit disappointed when I heard that the next book in the series was going to be about Mary. I was thinking that I didn’t even like her, but that I would read the book since I liked Lauren and it was going to be the next in the series.. Needless to say, my little world was rocked and I found that I did like Mary and she did have some admirable qualities. In some ways, I wish I could be more like her.

  2. Hi Sarah! I am so enjoying rereading this book! You mentioned listening to the Emerald Ring audio book. I love Lauren’s audio books! The reader is the best I have heard on audio books and makes them so enjoyable.

    I do love how complex and fascinating Lord Vaughn is, and Mary is perfect for him.

    • I adore audio books! I have a contract cleaning business and audio books keep me sane. If you’re thinking of trying out Louise Penny’s Gamache series (Ashley talked about her a couple months ago) definitely consider the audio. They are read by Ralph Cosham and he does an amazing job of bringing the characters to life.
      As to Mary and Vaughn, they are a ton of fun and so deep, I’m looking forward to continuing to explore them with you!

      • I love listening to audiobooks while working out (weight lifting, walking, running) it keeps my mind busy, I especially love listening to books that I have already read, because it stops me from scanning and not reading as well!! I will have to give those books a try that you suggested. 🙂

  3. I agree, Mary is quite the character study. She is selfish and vein but at the same time she wants to fulfill what society expects of her and she is clearly willing to do whatever it takes to get to that place. I think this couple is one of the most ‘real’ couples in the series (so far anyway). I have heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book in the series…either you like Mary/Lord Vaughn or you don’t….

  4. I love Mary and Vaughn (and find Amy to be clueless and irritating) and this is actually my all time favorite Pink book. I agree that putting Mary in the context of society’s expectations, she becomes much more sympathetic. Lord Vaughn is witty, and definitely the quintessential “bad boy.” Watching these two characters get to the point where they can admit their love for one another is an amazing journey!

  5. Hi Sarah,

    Thanks for a great introduction to the book. Keying off of your quote about Lord Vaughn being a real rake, I think that is one of the things that makes him so interesting. He’s a little older than the other men, can’t be bothered with the childish games he sees (love Mary’s mind journey pp. 32-33, where she describes trying to lure him before with no interest on his part), and has had more experience. Having read a number of regency romances, his description as eloquently dressed, speaking with a drawl, and using his quizzing class makes him immediately attractive. I’ve not read much so far, but am really looking forward to this reread. I didn’t find him at all frightening in Black Tulip this time around, but then I already knew the story.

Leave a Reply

