Library Sale Giveaway

Last weekend, Brad and I went to the Wake County library book sale. Have you ever been to a library book sale? I’ve been to a few, but the Wake County sale is unlike anything I’ve ever seen. It’s so enormous, it has to be held at the NC state fair grounds. It is all in one building, but that building is slammed. So. Many. Books.

For a person like me who loves to read, you would think this would be heaven. But I felt so overwhelmed by the number of books around me, the number of people, and the lack of any organization beyond “general fiction on the right, mystery and romance to the left,” that I wound up feeling like Rachel in that episode of Friends where they try to find Monica a wedding dress. I just wanted to curl up under a table with my hands over my head and blow my safety whistle.

I digress. I think it’s really interesting to see what’s on offer at the book sale, because the books you see the most copies of tell you something about what books were trending in the past year or so. At last year’s book sale, I must have seen at least fifty copies of The Help. Strangely, this year I saw tons of copies of The Lovely Bones – I wouldn’t have predicted that one. I also find it interesting that I hardly ever run across a copy of a Harry Potter book at these sales, but there were entire boxes full of Twilight books. I’m not trying to hate on Twilight. I read and own all four of the books. But I think it’s interesting.

Brad found some biographies and histories, and I found a few hardback copies of Mary Stewart novels that I’m really excited about. Here’s the thing, though. Brad and I already have a LOT of books. We have stacks of them, actually. People say, “Oh, do you need bookshelves?” No. We have seven. They are full, thus the stacks on the floor. Brad and I walked away from the library book sale with 25 books.

winter seaforgotten garden

Since it’s nearly Christmas, and I love to share things with you, I am going to give away two books that I bought at the library sale. I have a paperback copy of Susanna Kearsley’s The Winter Sea and Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden to put up for grabs. They are both previously owned, obviously, but they are in very good condition. Both books are excellent – The Winter Sea is actually one of my all-time favorites. I’m giving both books to one lucky commenter on today’s post. I’ll announce the winner on Friday.  Good luck!

14 thoughts on “Library Sale Giveaway

  1. That’s interesting about the Lovely Bones book, I actually looked up when the movie came out. I remember reading the book for school so maybe that is it! I have not read either of the books that you are giving away! I will have to put them on my to read list! 🙂

  2. Kate Morton is one of my favorite authors. I have all of her books. They are wonderful. The other book sounds like a great read. I’ve never been to a library sale but it sounds neat and a bit overwhelming.

  3. I have the same love/hate relationship with library book sales. They can be so disorganized and yet I’ve had some really good finds. I remember seeing a lot of ‘The Help’ last year also. The Forgotten Garden is one of my all time favorites, but I’ve never read The Winter Sea. I keep hearing really good things about it though.

  4. I have never been to a library book sale. Your recent adventure does sound amazing and a bit overwhelming! My mother was just telling me about a smaller but great book sale she went to inside her local branch.

    This summer, I was driving with one of my daughters and we saw a sign next to a park that said something about a book sale there and that we could meet our favorite authors. It was a very poorly worded sign and it was not a situation where we could stop. It looked sketchy, but it was kind of sad to not even be able to take a look, so I expressed that I was sorry. My daughter laughed and said, “Well, I am pretty sure that I wouldn’t be able to meet Jane Austen.” I love that child.

    Seriously, does anyone ever have enough bookshelves?! I would be interested to know how others organize their books? By author? Genre? Size? Color? Theme? Series? I have been especially loving how gorgeous covers seem to be lately. It makes me think that it is somehow more artistic to display my books out in the open rather than on a shelf. I do like to look at them.

  5. This is exciting! Kate Morton is one of my favorite authors and I’ve never read any Susanna Kearsley (even though her books have been on my TBR list for a while). I’ve never been to a library book sale but I def think I’m going to start looking for one near me because that sounds really interesting.

  6. I can never pass up a library sale; they are like a special treat just for me but I’m very selective about what I take home…only the books that I want to have forever. Susanna Kearsley is definitely on the list!

  7. I’ve been to a library book sale, and the most wonderful thing besides the books is the price. You sound like me and my husband, Ashley, as we are both avid readers and can’t seem to turn down a book. However, my husband has relied on his Nook for the past 3 years, so doesn’t buy paper books any more. With me, that’s another story – ran out of bookcases (double stacked) so I put them in attractive baskets.

    As for organization, Paige, I usually have mine in groups by authors, since I have several favorites and try to buy everything they write. In my baskets, I have organized by genre and time period.

    I own both of these books, but have only read The Winter Sea (love it and Kearsley!), so don’t need to be considered for the giveaway. I just like talking about books!

  8. Interesting about the Harry Potter vs. Twilight. The first thing that leaped to mind for me with that is that there are authors who are really good writers vs. the authors who tell a good tale. In my opinion, JK Rowling really falls into the first category. Beyond the elaborate plotting, where small tidbits are dropped casually that become so much larger later, she really does knows how to write a clever phrase. These are the reasons I am looking forward to sharing these stories with my children, and why I treasure each of these books and hang on to them.

    Or i could be totally off base and it might be because the Harry Potter books are more restricted to get as e-books. I also admit I have never finished the Twilight books, never got into them. For this genre, I prefer the books of Maggie Stiefvater.

  9. I love library sales! I wish there were more in my area, though my bookshelves are thankful that there aren’t!

    Loved both the above books and I’d be so happy to have them in my collection and to loan out to friends!

  10. I love library book sales too! The one you describe, Ashley, sounds rather like the Des Moines Planned Parenthood book sale which a friend introduced me to when I lived there. I moved to a small town in Massachusetts last spring and volunteered to help with sorting books for the sale at the local library in November, which is the most organized book sale in the world. Books are sorted by category- genre and then, if it’s fiction, by hardcover, softcover or trade paperback, and then alphabetically before going on the shelves. I don’t remember too many multiples of any one book, but there may have been.

    I came home with a gorgeous history of the town, which as it turns out was co-written by the husband of the woman organizing the sale, and have really enjoyed reading the histories of the much older houses around my newer house. I have both the Morton and Kearsley books, so don’t need to be entered in the drawing.

  11. Thanks. As a librarian, I can relate to owning shelves of books. My husband and I only buy books after we’ve read the library copies and know we want to read our own copies again sometime. Mary Stewart, Harry Potter, Narnia, among them…many shelves worth. These two I’d gladly add. 🙂

  12. I would enter but I have, read and loved both books LOL. In fact, I just finished the Firebird (sequel to the Winter Sea). I will make sure to follow you on goodreads :). Kate Morton and Susanna Kearsley are two of my favorite authors

Leave a Reply

