Pink IX: The Garden Intrigue

garden

Good morning and Happy May Day!  I’m pleased to have the opportunity this morning to introduce you all to our moderators for May and The Garden Intrigue: Holly and Amanda.  Give them a big Pink welcome, and dust off your copy of Pink IX.  It’s going to be a fabulous month.  Over to Holly and Amanda to introduce themselves.

Welcome to May and to The Garden Intrigue! We are sisters who blog together – usually we read and review independently, but our best posts are when we work together. Through the Pink For All Seasons readalong, Amanda has been re-reading all the Pink books, but this is Holly’s first cycle through the series – including diving into The Garden Intrigue. We’ve been following along all year (and we’ve both won awesome gifts thanks to Ashley!), and we’re excited that our month is here!

Holly: Everything I know about The Garden Intrigue so far is through Lauren’s recap here, plus what we’ve seen of some of the characters so far. Here’s what I’m excited about: another book set in France, the promise of the awful Georges Marsten making an appearance, and more Jane and Miss Gwen. Here’s what I’m nervous about: one Augustus Wittlesby.

Amanda: He wasn’t so bad in the last book – The Orchid Affair.

Oh Lord.  Laura prevented herself from rolling her eyes to the ceiling.  Just what she needed.  That poet. Again…

Out of character, his movements were entirely different from those of his assumed persona– quick, direct, to the point…Whittlesby grinned at her.  It was a charmingly boyish smile, and Laura could see why the ladies of the First Consul’s court cultivated him, despite his execrable poetry.

Holly: Sigh. He’s not my favorite. And don’t you remember, he was first introduced back in the very first book. Didn’t Delaroche put Whittlesby on the list of potential Purple Gentians? I can’t remember if he was a spy back then, or just a terrible poet. You know what word he uses all.the.time? Pulchritude. What a terribly ironic word – it means beauty but it’s kind of an ugly word.

Anyway, I am completely digging myself into a hole here. Once upon a time I did not like Mary Alsworthy either, and then Lauren went and made her into something entirely different back in The Seduction of the Crimson Rose. I fully expect the same here. I’ll probably be swooning over bad poetry soon.

Amanda: Okay, I will give you Pulchritude. It is a word that hurts my ears.  And all the poetry about Jane’s toes icks me out.  On the other hand, just think how smart one has to be to pull off such a charade for that length of time.  I think you’ll be surprised at how hard you’re going to fall sister.  I read this one when it was first published and haven’t reread it.  I’m excited to get back into Eloise and Colin’s relationship – especially with the bomb his stepfather dropped at the end of the last book!

Last, what Pink fan can resist this book knowing that Miss Gwen has a Pirate Queen cameo?  Is there a better role for her?

9 thoughts on “Pink IX: The Garden Intrigue

  1. My view of Whittlesby changed in Pink III when he “whispered” poetry in Jane’s ear and revealed that he really did work for the war office. My opinion of Mary Alsworthy NEVER did change…She made her own bed…she’s just lucky that Vaughn was there to rescue her! Dusting off my copy of Garden…I ❤ Emma and the American heroine.

  2. This was the only Pink I didn’t care for, in fact I DNF’d the historical parts. I am looking forward to re-reading it though…..hoping Emma will grow on me.

  3. Pingback: Let’s talk PhDs! | The Bubble Bath Reader

Leave a Reply

