Pink IX: Ask the Author

Happy Friday!

Lauren is returning today, in her glory and benevolence, for another round of Ask the Author.  What questions do you have about Augustus and Emma?  What do you want to know about the lost treasure of Berar?  Have you always wondered how Lauren knew Miss Gwen would make an excellent pirate?  Now is your chance to get answers – leave your questions in the Comments section, and Lauren will stop by periodically to answer them.

The Pink Fairy has a gift for a commenter on today’s post – a Pink IX mug, designed by Miss Eliza!

pink ix

If you would like to see all the mugs designed for Pink for All Seasons, they can be viewed and purchased on Zazzle.

Happy questioning, and enjoy our last day celebrating Pink IX.  On Monday, we begin The Passion of the Purple Plumeria!

15 thoughts on “Pink IX: Ask the Author

  1. Hi Lauren!! when did you decide none of the ladies that we had met so far would be good match for Augustus? Especially not Jane. I loved this one and it is enjoyable for me to reread because I think it has not been around for as long so it is still “new” to me. I can’t wait for your 2 new books coming soon I have them both pre-ordered on kindle and I jeep checking to see how much longer I have to wait 🙂

  2. Thank you, Rebecca!

    Oh, goodness. I’m trying to remember when I came up with Emma, but I’m drawing a blank. (Which is funny, because I remember the appearance of most of my characters very vividly.) I remember standing in my kitchen with an open box of cereal, absentmindedly eating out all the nut clusters and thinking out Emma’s past– probably circa 2009– but I don’t remember that moment when I decided an American named Emma was going to be just the right person for Augustus.

    The other bit of the question is easier. I remember playing with the idea of Augustus and Jane circa “Black Tulip”– and realizing very quickly that Jane would never, ever fall for someone who admired her that much and that obviously. Oddly enough, I never considered setting him up with any of the other Pink ladies…. In his own way, Augustus was always out of the structure of the series, removed from the social world in which Richard, Henrietta, et al traveled.

  3. I haven’t had time to read this month! So I’m now just making my way through and adoring this reread (I keep tweeting, think I’ve got a few more folks planning to start reading these books, which always makes me happy!)
    One of these days I’ll come up with a question rather than just gushing all fan-girl like 🙂

      • I’m also forming theories on some things (Jane) that are probably nowhere near accurate, but would be awesome if they are what you’re doing with the stories. Not going to actually say anything about the theories though, because they’re probably total off and I know I’ll love whatever comes in the final books…
        I’ve been finding myself slipping a bit into the tone of the era in my own writing lately (a sure sign of good writing when it begins to infiltrate my own work) — thank goodness it fits for my story!
        Gush gush gush… 🙂

  4. Hello Lauren!

    Through your many appearances of Augustus, did you ever have a tough time creating his atrocious rhyming couplets and muse meanderings? How many thesauruses (thesauri?) did you go through to come up with all the obscure words he used when creating his hidden messages in his vast and verbose amounts of verse?

    Thank you for giving us your truly wonderful stories!

    • Thanks so much, missrelena! I had a weakness in high school for what my English teachers called “$25 words”, so coming up with the purple prose wasn’t a problem! (Too much Kathleen E. Woodiwiss at a tender age?) I’ve found it’s very hard to write good poetry, but very easy to write bad poetry…. And it was very entertaining imagining what years of having to write bad poetry might do to one’s thought processes.

    • There were a couple of folks floating around in the back of my head. There was, of course, the original awful poet/swashbuckler, Sir Percy Blakeney, Baronet, of “they seek him here/they seek him there….” fame. He was probably the biggest influence. (Although he was literary, rather than historical.) On the historical side, when I was researching my dissertation on Royalist conspiracies during the English Civil Wars, one of the folks who popped up again and again was the Cavalier poet, Lovelace. Admittedly, Lovelace was a good poet rather than a bad one, but the precedent remains. I also thought of Aphra Behn, the poet and playwright, who worked as a spy for King Charles II in Holland. So while there wasn’t anyone specific in Napoleonic France who set the mold for Augustus, there were a fair number of poet/spies floating around.

  5. A standalone book with Emma and Augustus’s children would be great!! Did they have children? Where did they end up settling down and putting roots?

    • They end up in England, of all the odd places! Augustus, with Emma egging him on, finally follows his true convictions and works as first a journalist and then eventually editor of a newspaper called “the New Spectator” (something like the radical newspaper, “The North Briton”, a generation earlier) and then later runs for Parliament and serves as an MP. They do have children, although I must confess I haven’t given any thought to who they were and what their lives would have been. I do imagine, though, that they moved in very different circles from the offspring of the Selwicks and Vaughns and so on: political, middle class, not at all society sorts. Not to mention half-American!

  6. I really liked Augustus – his dedication, determination, devotion to the cause. His backstory would be interesting. There were only hints at his unhappiness at home. Any chance? Maybe a stand alone?

  7. Hi Lauren, another gusher here. I’m Wondering if it’s easier to write the bad poetry or Emma’s snappy comebacks? I seem to be able to come up with them on the spot, but wonder how difficult it is to write them?

Leave a Reply

