Birthday Odds and Ends

Good morning and happy Monday!

Friday of last week was my birthday, and I got an extremely cool gift from one of my friends (thanks again, Laney!) that I wanted to share with you. It’s a book called Literary Listography: My Reading Life in Lists by Lisa Nola.

listography

This book is a bit like a journal and a bit like making shelves on GoodReads. It is literally a book where you make lists. There are over 70 list topics – some that you’d expect, like “Top 20 Most Beloved Books” and “My 20 Favorite Authors.” Other lists made me laugh out loud when I saw them, like “Fictional Characters I’d Go on a Date With” and “Books I Think I Will Skip.” There are also some creative lists that are less about books and more about a love of language, like “Words I Love and Hate the Sound Of” and “Title Ideas for Stories I’d Love to Write.” Each list is accompanied by a beautiful illustration by Holly Exley.

 Atticus Hero list

I spent lots of time this weekend flipping through it and thinking about what I’ll include in my lists. Now I just have to take the plunge and start writing in the book! If this looks like the type of book you’d love to have (or the type of book you’d like to give as a gift!), you can buy it on Amazon.

Continuing in the celebratory spirit, I thought you might appreciate another “gift” that I got on my birthday. Beth (yes, the same Beth that moderated Pink II for us) decided she would mark the day by sending me a series of texts every few hours. Some of you may be familiar with the Ryan Gosling “Hey girl” meme, but Beth put her own twist on this and sent me Happy Birthday texts from some awesome book and movie heroes. These are too good not to share. Enjoy!

 IMG_2055 IMG_2056 IMG_2059
 IMG_2058 IMG_2053  IMG_2054
 IMG_2052
10 thoughts on “Birthday Odds and Ends

    • Thank you, Alli! I think Christian Bale is my favorite, but to be fair, he had a 10 year head start on everyone else in the race for a place in my heart 🙂

  1. Literary Listography sounds like an amazing book and a great gift! Beth’s meme texts are excellent; thanks for sharing them! Happy birthday!

  2. Sorry so late in posting…it appears that you and I have birthdays very close together! I celebrated mine on July 11! My husband gave me a kid free day! Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

