In Which I Am Grateful

THANK YOU on speech bubble price labels

And just like that, the month of August is over. I know it has been our Pink for All Seasons tradition to have Ask the Author at the end of the month – I am still planning to have one last Q&A with Lauren. If you follow her site, you probably have seen that she is in the midst of a move. We will get around to Ask the Author when she has time to breathe.

We will also talk soon about all those juicy tidbits from the back of The Lure of the Moonflower where Lauren gives us a brief look at what our favorite characters get up to after the series has ended.

But today, I wanted to take a moment to say some thank-yous. My debts are heavy and numerous. Pink for All Seasons started as a fun way for me to re-read my favorite series before the last book was published. I decided to grow it and put it on the blog, and I just had no idea what it would turn into. Thank you, THANK YOU all for being here and for reading and chatting with me for the past year.

Firstly, thanks to Miss Eliza, who has been an excellent cohost – designing logos and mugs, brainstorming with me, moderating and comoderating, dream casting each of our books, and actually (truth be told) inspiring me to start blogging in the first place. Miss Eliza, you are like Cate Blanchett as Galadriel – beautiful and terrifying in your enthusiasm and efficiency. I hope you will interpret that as the compliment that it is, and not think I am calling you scary. You know you are awesome.

Secondly, many thanks to all the fantastic moderators who have stepped up to lead entire months of discussion: Erin, Beth, Sarah, Anne, Betty, Abby, Amanda & Holly, Paige and Dara. I was so touched by your willingness to give a month of your time to this project, and you all brought your own creativity and flair to your posts. Thank you for keeping the discussion going and keeping me on my toes. Thanks also to Chanpreet, Alison, and Sarah, who wrote guest posts for the blog.

Thank you to the Pink Fairy who, although she chooses to remain anonymous, donated the monthly mugs as prizes for the Ask the Author posts. She also donated the mugs that arrived to each of the moderators once their month was completed – you thought it was me, but no! Pink Fairy, your gifts were and are appreciated.

Thanks to Beth, who put a copy of The Secret History of the Pink Carnation in my hands nine years ago, and whose cheerful enthusiasm for this and all my other crazy ideas is such a comfort.

Thanks to ALL of you. No, really – every last one of you reading this post. Whether you were a regular commenter or a quiet observer, this project would not have been the same without you. I have been absolutely amazed by the number of you that have participated in one way or another, whether it was by offering up a casting suggestion, entering a giveaway, or just popping by once a week to read what we’ve been up to.

And I have saved the most obvious for last: thanks, as always, to Lauren for the following:

  1. Donating signed books for each month.
  2. Posting about Pink for All Seasons on her site and generally encouraging readers to come here and hang out.
  3. Volunteering to participate in monthly Ask the Author posts.
  4. Writing such awesome books that have inspired a group of 150 people (yes, there really are that many of you) to hang out for a YEAR discussing books together.

I won’t put a “The End” stamp on this post, because we’ve got a bit more Pink to go. I just wanted to make sure I had a chance to tell you all how awesome you are and how much fun you have made this last year. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

24 thoughts on “In Which I Am Grateful

  1. Thank you Ashley! Not only for doing, well, all this and being awesome, but for your kind words, no higher compliment than a terrifying elf played by and amazing actress ❤

  2. Yes, thank you, Ashley! I enjoyed leading the discussion and I’ve enjoyed everything that all of you have had to say even more. And my thanks to the Pink Fairy for the mug, which has pride of place for drinking tea in my office.

  3. Thank you, Pink Fairy! The mug is treasured! And Ashley, I am grateful to you for organizing and hosting this read along, and for opening up and sharing your blog.

  4. The biggest THANK YOU goes to you, Ashley, for coming up with the idea, organizing, and seeing this through, through thick and thin, rain and snow, spies and more spies…. Thank you so much– and thank you, Miss Eliza, amazing moderators, Good Pink Fairy, and Read-Alongers. It’s been such a privilege to get to see the books through your eyes!

  5. Thank you so much for organizing the read along & discussions. I’ve been a huge fan of Lauren’s from the beginning and it was great to re-read the series with fellow fans. Kudos to all of the contributors!

Leave a Reply

