Lost Intro to Pink V

pudding

Happy Monday to one and all. Today I go back to working full days, five days a week, for the first time since mid-December. I have a feeling I’m going to need some inspiration to help me get through the next few days. Thank goodness for Mistletoe! I have laughed out loud several times already during this re-read – most notably when Turnip tries to explain things to Arabella about Sally and her “peculiar friends.”

Paige kindly asked last week for an overview of my reading timeline for Pink V. Naturally, you should all feel free to read at your own pace, but here is how I plan to schedule the recap posts:

Friday, January 9: Chapters 1-9

Friday, January 16: Chapters 10-16

Friday, January 23: Chapters 17-24

Wednesday, January 28: Chapters 25-29

Did you know that Lauren originally wrote a different introduction to The Mischief of the Mistletoe? I went back and re-read both that intro and her explanation for why it had to go on her website, and I thought it was pretty entertaining. Head over to her website to read for yourself!

What do you think? Would you have preferred her “scholarly” introduction, or do you like beginning with the letter from Jane?

8 thoughts on “Lost Intro to Pink V

  1. I can see both sides of the coin but don’t publishers have their tricks of “this is a work of fiction….” before the book… I’m sure I missed some of the jokes. I would have loved a present day chapter or 2 in there if only an intro would have been nice…

  2. I liked the scholarly opening but I’m a history professor who hasn’t always been an academic and still often feel like an anthropologist investigating the rituals and ceremonies (i.e. ponderous scholarly introductions in this case) of an unknown cultural group, so it made me laugh. All right, here’s a question for Lauren at the end of the month which just occurred to me. Was Perpetua Fotherington-Smythe intended as a connection to John Smythe in the Vicky Bliss series?

    • Abby – make sure you ask Lauren that when she comes back for Ask the Author. I’ve never read any Vicky Bliss, but I think I remember her referencing it, so it’s very possible!

      • I thought of a question for the end of the month as well so in case i forget i am posting it here… What was it like writing and publishing a book out of sequence of the rest? Is that why there is no present day aspect?

Leave a comment