Announcement: Part II

 FinalPink

I have been so excited to tell you about this that I can barely stand it. I promised you something big and something pink. Here it is!

Lauren Willig’s Pink Carnation series will be coming to a close when the twelfth book is published in August of 2015. The Pink books have been a great ride, and I have gobbled them up like candy every time a new one was published. The challenge for readers of a series that has climbed to twelve books? Keeping twelve books’ worth of characters and events straight in your head. Lauren is a whiz at bringing back characters we haven’t seen for a few books and giving them new jobs to do. When I read the tenth book last August, Lauren tossed in a few references that I knew I recognized, but I couldn’t remember quite why. Next year, when Pink XII is released, I want to be up to date with what’s going on. I need to go back and reread the whole series to get ready.

So guess what? I’m going to do just exactly that. Starting in September 2014, I will read one book a month until, voilà, the twelfth book is published in August 2015. That means one year of Napoleonic spies, balls, treasure hunts, sword fights, secret assignations, mistaken identities, heroines of all stripes, and plenty of other good stuff. I’m calling this Pink Extravaganza “Pink for All Seasons.”

The best part of it all? Several of my fellow Pink Enthusiasts are coming with me, and we want you to get involved too! Miss Eliza of Strange and Random Happenstance (who designed the beautiful banner and is generally amusing and awesome), Erin, and Beth have all signed on to pick their favorite Pink book and lead a month of fabulous reading. We’ll talk about read-alikes, characters, history, popular conventions, deleted scenes, casting in our “if-only” movie adaptation scenarios, and plenty more.

Did I say the best part? Perhaps I spoke to soon. If you are a regular here, or know me at all, you will know that my affection for Lauren rivals that of Leslie Knope for Ann Perkins .

 Leslie fish

Because Lauren is incredibly gracious and kind, when I approached her about hosting this year-long reread, she agreed to autograph a copy of each of her books for me to give away here on the blog.

To sum up: One year of Pink reading. One book per month. Guest bloggers to guide us through. Prizes. General frivolity. This is going to be an amazing year.

Have you read the Pink books? Do you have a favorite? If you do, and you’d like to participate in Pink for All Seasons, let me know! So far, the only books that are spoken for are these:

  • Pink I: The Secret History of the Pink Carnation
  • Pink II: The Masque of the Black Tulip
  • Pink III: The Deception of the Emerald Ring
  • Pink V: The Mischief of the Mistletoe
  • Pink VIII: The Orchid Affair

That leaves seven Pink books for you to choose from, if you are so inclined! Send me an email at ashley.pinkforallseasons@gmail.com, and we can talk about how you can participate.

If you haven’t read the Pink books, this will really be the perfect time to give them a try. I mean, it’s not just me who thinks they are awesome. Lauren’s books have been Romantic Times Top Picks and RT Readers’ and Reviewers’ Choice nominees and winners. Her books have won a RITA, a Booksellers Award, a Golden Leaf Award, and regularly appear on the NYT Best Sellers lists. September is right around the corner, but you have plenty of time to get yourself a copy of The Secret History of the Pink Carnation and get excited. This is going to be awesome.

55 thoughts on “Announcement: Part II

  1. Greetings from the fellowship of the unashamed.(men who love chiklit) I have never taken a bubble bath in my life (well maybe as a kid) and your website title sounds formidable for a manly lover of Lauren Willig’s work. However I plunge ahead and declare this to be a great idea indeed! I plan to crash the party and participate nevertheless.

    • Jeffrey, welcome! Bubblebaths (though amazing) are not a required component of Pink for All Seasons – they just happen to be where I do the majority of my reading. Anybody who loves Lauren or the Pink series, or anyone who is trying them for the first time, is welcome to participate. I’m glad you’ll be joining the fun! We’re less than 2 weeks from starting “The Secret History of the Pink Carnation.”

  2. I am so excited. This is a brilliant beyond brilliant idea. I’d be happy to help out if you still need bloggers or whatnot!

    Dara @ inspirationincreation.wordpress.com

    • Thanks, Dara! If you have a favorite Pink book you’d like to moderate, shoot me an email (ashley.pinkforallseasons@gmail.com) and we’ll talk details!

  3. How fun!! I just started rereading the series, so know I think I’ll finish Emerald Ring and then join everyone else in December.

  4. How fun!! I have been thinking I need to reread them all before the last one comes out and I love the idea of having fellow pink fans to read and discuss them with. I’m in!!!

  5. I haven’t read any yet, but a good friend was telling me about this series, and I love historical fiction, soooooooo, now is a great time to get started! One a month-I can do that!

  6. This sounds like so much fun! I read the first book way back in 2005 when it was published, then discovered the sequels (I think there were 6 by then) a few years later. I went to every library in my area to get my hands on them! I’m two books behind now so this would be the perfect excuse to catch up and do a reread like you mentioned. I love this series and would love to get back into it. Great idea! 🙂

  7. I found your blog thanks to Lauren Willig’s facebook page. I have read all of her books and I love them. I am super excited to re-read them with you. Looking forward to all the fun!

  8. I have read them all very quickly as them came out and then re-read them again, I have been addicted since the first book, I have the first 5 in several formats (HB, Soft and CD) and have listened and read all but the last 2 over and over (they and the first 2 are out on loan). I love them all and eagerly await the next one every time (though I am very disappointed that the last few were not issued in hardcover). I don’t know what I will do when the last one comes out. The non pink books are not as much of an addiction as the Pink books though I have read Ashford twice.

    • Debra, have you read her novellas too? They are all available on her website, and even though they are very short, it’s fun to catch up with our favorite characters!

      • yep, I actually bought printed versions 2 of the novellas, Bunny & Biscuits wasn’t printed for sale or I would have bought it too.

  9. Pingback: Pink for All Seasons: Just Wow. | The Bubblebath Reader

  10. Great minds think alike! I had planned to listen to the Pinks in audio once a month to gear up for the last book. I’ve read all the Pinks numerous times, but have never listened to the audiobooks which are read by Kate Reading. I am so excited for Jane’s story and it will be fun to be a part of the read-a-long with fellow readers.

    Books in the bath has saved my sanity many times. One winter in Seattle I had no heat so I lived in the bath!

    • Mel, you are brave to live in Seattle with no heat! You make a good point, though. I should definitely give the audio versions of these books a try. I’m glad you’re coming along for the ride with us this year! I’m excited for Jane’s story too – did you read the excerpt at the end of Manzanilla?

      • Seattle isn’t so bad as some places in the winter, even with no heat (I had a winter in Seattle with no heat once but it was long before the 1st pink book. I was born in Seattle, I still work there but now I live in the Everett area. I love Kate Reading’s treatment of the stories. She is tremendous on everything that I have heard her read.

  11. I came to Lauren Willig’s books — and really the romance genre as a whole — through The Ashford Affair this summer, and have only just finished Pink Carnation… Very much looking forward to this project and reading the rest of them!

  12. Pingback: Sunday Summary 8/31 – Coffee and Blog Chat | Things Matter

  13. I just finished the group read of THAT SUMMER and Lauren announced this just now on her Facebook page. Am I a Pink fan? Absolutely. Do I have a hard time keeping the characters straight? Certainly! Am I going to re-read along with you? Beyond a shadow of a doubt! Thanks for doing this. Will you be announcing where we follow along? Will it be here? – Joy

  14. Pingback: The Secret History of the Pink Carnation | The Bubblebath Reader

  15. Pingback: Pink Giveaway | The Bubblebath Reader

  16. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I NEED to Read More From | Bring My Books

  17. Pingback: Pink for All Seasons | Gun In Act One

  18. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR | Eclectic Alli

  19. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Beach Reads | Eclectic Alli

  20. Pingback: The Secret History of the Pink Carnation Books 7-9 | Gun In Act One

  21. Pingback: Saying Goodbye to the Pink Carnation Series | Gun In Act One

Leave a comment